Skip to main content

Library: Databases/Standards

Ballarat Health Services, Wimmera Health Care Group, East Grampians Health Service, Stawell Regional Health, West Wimmera Health Service, Central Highlands Rural Health, Beaufort-Skipton Health Services, East Wimmera Health Service, Ballarat Community Hea

Journal Citation & Research Databases

These databases contain journal citations, abstracts and in some cases full text. They are used to find journal articles on a particular topic. Use them for research and to conduct literature searches.

CINAHL

Key database of nursing and allied health literature.

Cochrane Library

Includes Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL) and Cochrane Clinical Answers.

Discovery Search (multiple databases)

Search across a number of health related databases at once. Note there are limitations on searching with regards to subject headings, MESH etc.

Embase

In addition to Medline records, Embase indexes thousands of unique journals and has a focus on European and drug research.

Emcare

Nursing and allied health

Joanna Briggs Institute

Systematic reviews and evidence guides with a nursing focus

Medline (Ebsco)

Key database of biomedical and clinical sciences literature on the Ebsco platform. Includes pre-print and non-indexed citations.

Medline (Ovid)

Key database of biomedical and clinical sciences literature on the Ovid platform. Includes pre-print and non-indexed citations.

PsycINFO (Ovid)

Mental health literature

PubMed

A version of Medline that is free to use. This access point provides links to BHS full text where available.